Chamber to Once Again Highlight Haverhill’s Cultural Treasures with Trolley Tour Event
The Greater Haverhill Chamber of Commerce, in collaboration with Creative Haverhill, are fine-tuning the route around Haverhill that will lead trolley riders on a unique sightseeing adventure. All members and city residents are invited to “hop on” this rolling “After Hours” Trolley Tour of the city’s 5 Treasures on August 18th from 5-9pm.
For the second year in a row, old fashioned trolleys will greet passengers at Tattersall Farm, where they will embark on a journey that will include stops at Haverhill’s Firefighting Museum, Winnekenni Castle, John Greenleaf Whittier’s Birthplace and the Buttonwoods Museum before returning to Tattersall.
Each stop will feature delicious food and beverage from local establishments, tours of the facility and/or grounds and historical perspectives. Haverhill has always had and continues to provide great tourism sites, with plenty of historic and culturally rich places to visit with a large number of knowledgeable people to speak about the importance of each location. Many lifelong residents have not seen all the historic places, individually or together – so this event offers a fun and relaxed way to take them all in at one time.
Reservations are required as space is limited. Tickets are $30 and may be purchased at the Greater Haverhill Chamber of Commerce, www.haverhillchamber.com . For information, call (978) 373-5663 or email email@example.com .
More about the destinations –
Tattersall Farm: Haverhill’s own 150 acre farm, this property was owned and worked by the Tattersall family for most of the 20th Century. Bequeathed to the City of Haverhill upon Mary Alice Tattersall’s death in 1999, it remains a working farm under the direction of a Board of Trustees.
Haverhill Firefighting Museum: Experience the evolution of New England Firefighting History at the Haverhill Firefighting Museum, home to one of the largest collections of New England Firefighting History in New England.
Winnekenni Castle: This Castle, built by Dr. James R. Nichols in 1873, is a hidden jewel popular with residents of the local communities and tourists from all over the country. The original structure contained a gothic door opening up to a spacious Grecian Drawing Room, a Pompeian style dining room, Roman-tiled, black-walnut finished library, in addition to a kitchen, sleeping room, storeroom and laundry.
John Greenleaf Whittier’s Birthplace: The Whittier Birthplace was home to Quaker poet and abolitionist John Greenleaf Whittier. This treasure remains substantially the same as when the poet lived there. Best known for his poetry—in particular his poem, Snow-Bound—Whittier was also a prime mover in the abolitionist movement.
Buttonwoods Museum: The Buttonwoods site is in the middle of hundreds of years of Haverhill and Merrimack Valley history! A visit to the 1710 John Ward House begins a journey into life in the area during and after English settlement. The museum also houses furniture, ceramics, glassware, quilts, dolls and toys. A visit to the Duncan House illustrates the importance of the Merrimack River in trade, commerce and travel.